Web 2.0 Teaching Tools


This is a list of websites and tools that are either completely free or have a free version that can be used with small groups of students.

VIRTUAL OFFICES - online editing and sharing of text files, spreadsheets, chats and emails, calendars, etc.
37Signals.com's Basecamp - http://37signals.com/
activeCollab - http://www.teamworklive.com/TeamWork.htm
ProjectSpaces - http://www.forumone.com/section/services/projectspaces/
TeamworkLive - http://www.teamworklive.com/TeamWork.htm
Zoho Vitural Office - http://zoho.com/
SPresent - online flash presentations - http://www.spresent.com/v2/

WORD PROCESSING / TEXT / WIKIS
Jotspot - http://www.jot.com/
Schtuff - http://www.schtuff.com/
Web Collaborator - http://webcollaborator.com/
Writeboard - http://writeboard.com/
Writely - http://writely.com
Designing Learning Spaces - Example of a Class using an Open Wiki

SPREADSHEETS only
EditGrid - http://www.editgrid.com/home
iRows - http://irows.com
Tracker (Jotspot) - http://tracker.jot.com/
wikiCalc - http://www.softwaregarden.com/wkcalpha/

DATABASES only - those I don't think any of the Virtual Office have this feature
Lazybase - http://lazybase.com/
My Own DB - http://www.myowndb.com/

MAPPING
Map Hacks.net - http://www.gisuser.com/maphacks/ - for GIS users
Quickmaps - http://quikmaps.com/

PICTURE TOOLS
Flickr Magazine Cover tool - http://flagrantdisregard.com/flickr/magazine.php
Other Great Flickr-based tools
Scanr - http://www.scanr.com/ - scan and send from a photo phone
Stickam - http://www.stickam.com/ - upload photos, videos & audio to post on blog pages

BLOGS
Learning Blogs - http://learnerblogs.org/ - for K-12 students
Uni Blogs - http://uniblogs.org/ - for University students
Edu Blogs - http://edublogs.org/ - for Education professionals (teachers, etc.)
ESL Blogs - http://eslblogs.org/ - for ESL & EFL educators

VOICE / AUDIO / PODCASTING
Yack Pack - http://www.yackpack.com/
Apple iTunes U - http://www.apple.com/education/solutions/itunes_u/

ONLINE MEETINGS
Vyew - http://vyew.com/

ACADEMIC SEARCH
Google Scholar - http://scholar.google.com/
Post Genomic - http://www.postgenomic.com/
Windows Live Academic - http://academic.live.com/

CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT - classroom tools that span the needs of Students, Parents, Teachers and School Administrators
My Note It - http://www.mynoteit.com/
School Tool - http://www.schooltool.org/
Teach Learning - Free K-12 curriculum materials on any topic
Engrade - http://www.engrade.com/ - online grading tool
Moodle* - http://moodle.org - open source course management system (CMS)